The Jester in Ashwell played host to the annual awards dinner on Saturday 5th April. Over 50 club members were in attendance for the 3 course, sit down meal followed by the award ceremony.

Highlights of the night included 1st team Captain James Heslam receiving the 1st XI batting tinkered (again) and Tom Greaves cleaning up with 4 awards, including the 1st team bowling and players player of the year awards, as well as the Diana Field Cup, which recognises an outstanding individual performance for his blistering knock against Flitwick at The Green. Richard Johnson was awarded James Heslam’s Captains Award for his efforts last season.

Other notable recipients of team awards included Marcus Martin, who won the 2nd IX batting and players player awards, and club legend Peter Tidey who collected the gong for 2nd XI bowling award. 3rd XI skipper Maseeh Naeem handed Marcus J.E. Baker the 3rd XI batting and players player of the year award, whilst young Jack Caine capped a very special season for himself by collecting the 3rd XI bowling award, as well as the Mike Jackson Cup for being the most impressive youngster in adult cricket. Rob Willoughby won a clean sweep of awards for the 4th XI.

Sunday cricket was also recognised, with the younger Tidey brothers both being recognised for their efforts with the bat (Sean) and ball (Jack). Youngsters Rob Lankester and Rhodri Hughes were also awarded trophies, along with George Garrott and Mike Naeem who claimed the prestigious ‘Duck’ trophy.

Lastly, the efforts of non-playing members of the club were also celebrated. Tea ladies Rosemary Collins and the retiring Hilary Curtis were rightly rewarded for their brilliant teas throughout the season, with Mrs Curtis receiving a special gift to recognise her many years of Saturday teas. Paul Watts, who stepped down as Fixture Secretary after 15 years in the job was also recognised, along with Keith Collins who stepped down as bar manager after many, many years. Finally, Richard Robertson was rewarded for his on-going and excellent work on both home grounds.

A full list of the winners are available in the list below:

1st Xl Batting Tankard: James Heslam

1st Xl Bowling Tankard: Tom Greaves

1st Xl Players Player of the Year:  Tom Greaves

The Diana Field Cup: Tom greaves

The Club Captains Award: Richard Johnson

2nd Xl Batting Tankard: Marcus Martin

2nd Xl Bowling Tankard: Peter Tidey

2nd Xl Players Player of the Year: Marcus Martin

The Tony Bysouth Cup: Rob Lankester

The Dave Bowles Memorial Cup: George Garrott

3rd Xl Batting Shield: Marcus J.E. Baker

3rd Xl Bowling Trophy: Jack Caine

3rd Xl Players Player of the Year: Marcus J.E. Baker

4th Xl Batting Tankard: Rob Willoughby

4th Xl Bowling Tankard: Rob Willoughby

4th Xl Players Player of the Year:  Rob Willoughby

The Peter Baker Tankard:  Rhodri Hughes

Sunday Xl Batting Tankard: Sean Tidey

Sunday Xl Bowling Tankard: Jack Tidey

The DUCK Trophy:  Michael Naeem

The Mike Jackson Cup: Jack Caine

The NVC Trophy Award: Tom Greaves

SPECIAL AWARD – Hilary Curtis


SPECIAL AWARD – Keith Collins